This is one of those albums that you will find yourself listening to time and again. With a very fine group of musicians behind her, and de Ness using her exceptionally expressive voice to its full, this will become one of your favourite Albums. ”

BROADWAY WORLD REVIEW

Hopefully this accomplished performer will return to Adelaide soon. ★★★★ 1/2” ”

SEE THINGS LIKE YOU ALBUM SHOW REVIEW GLAM ADELAIDE 18, June 2016

Each track moves seamlessly from one tune to the next in a soulful journey of smooth original jazz, blues and delectable bossanova. Jen’s smooth and sultry vocals are layered with her warm harmonies and supported by some of the best Australian musicans. Every song has the smooth, well-loved signature “de Ness” sound, with much variation in each song’s feel, ensuring each track is sure to be somebody’s favourite. ”

— REVIEW SEE THINGS LIE YOU

Jen de Ness is an absolute tour de force! Sultry, scintillating and completely mesmerising.”

— Pheasantry Club LONDON

If you like Jazz, Easy Listening, Bossa nova and Blues you'll love Jen de Ness Music. Based in Australia, the band will be touring soon. "Cry Me a River" is my new favorite. Take a listen..”

— Best of Summer Listening, 2016

Just want to let you know I have been playing many of the tracks from your new CD See things like you, which is very popular wth listeners. ”

— ALL THE CATS JOIN IN RADIO FLEUREU

SEE THINGS LIKE YOU ALBUM REVIEW & SHOWS RADIO ADELAIDE

SEE THINGS LIKE YOU ALBUM REVIEW & SHOWS RADIO ADELAIDE

SEE THINGS LIKE YOU ALBUM REVIEW RADIO ADELAIDE 2016

SEE THINGS LIKE YOU ALBUM REVIEW RADIO ADELAIDE 2016

GLAM ADELAIDE REVIEW OF THE PREMIERE 
 "SEE THINGS LIKE YOU"

GLAM ADELAIDE REVIEW OF THE PREMIERE "SEE THINGS LIKE YOU"

BROADWAY WORLD REVIEW OF "SEE THINGS LIKE YOU"

BROADWAY WORLD REVIEW OF "SEE THINGS LIKE YOU"

REVIEWS FOR ORIGINAL JAZZ CABARET SHOW ABOUT THE GREEN TILE TANGO CLUB IN "SEE THINGS LIKE YOU" ADELAIDE PREMIERE. 
" Everybody fits in at the Green Tile Tango Club.  Its the place to be seen.  You could be watching someone – or someone could be watching you…" 


BROADWAY WORLD REVIEW ADELAIDE 
"The whole idea of a performance where songs of love and loss are related to various characters, all within one venue, makes for a very solid cabaret show. It is, of course, the excellent song-writing, the very fine guitar playing of Bill Atkinson, the magnificent voice of Jen de Ness, along with her story-telling skills, building a narrative that includes plenty of humour, and audience involvement without tears, that makes this such a special production. Watch out for a return visit, and be sure to get tickets."
Barry Lenny, BROADWAY WORLD REVIEW ADELAIDE CABARET FRINGE JULY 2015


GLAM ADELAIDE 
"Jen’s sultry tones backed by the excellent playing of Bill Atkinson make for a very pleasant way to spend an hour. Jen began with a bluesy version of Fever a la Peggy Lee and immediately had the audience on side, snapping fingers and generally getting into the mood. This was followed with an original tune, which set the scene for our visit to Jen’s club The Green Tile Tango, and in a short time,  Jen  had us singing along to this. ...  Bill's  skilful playing seemed at home with the differing genres that Jen explored, which is hardly surprising as apart from his obvious gift with the guitar he collaborated with Jen  on the writing of many of the tunes.

This was indeed a treat but I look forward to a longer stay at the Green Tile Tango Club the next time they bring it to town." 
Fran Edwards, GLAM ADELAIDE JULY 2015

THEATRE GUIDE ADELAIDE
"Perth’s Jen de Ness, accompanied by husband Bill Atkinson on acoustic guitar, leads the audience through the interwoven stories of the dancers at the Green Tile Tango Club – named after her bathroom! Original bluesy-jazz numbers covering the tangled love affairs, breakups and love triangles of the characters are intermingled with classic torch songs – Peggy Lee’s “Fever!”, “The Man I Love”, and “Cry Me a River”.

De Ness’s sultry style is very strong in the lower register, and her insouciant attitude, use of minimal props and tongue-in-cheek quips bring the stories to life. De Ness inhabits her exotic characters as they work through attraction, passion and betrayal, all to the rhythm of the tango. The interaction between de Ness and Atkinson is both polished and intimate, without excluding the audience from their on-stage relationship.....
An interesting and original show by an engaging and amusing performer." 

Louise Miller-Frost , THEATRE GUIDE ADELAIDE  JULY 2015 

GLAM ADELAIDE INTERVIEW WITH FRAN EDWARDS JULY 2015

With 20 years experience as a performer, Jen is happy to be back in Adelaide where she lived for a short while. It’s the first time in the ‘City of Churches’ since 1999 when she moved to Perth, and on this visit her husband Bill Atkinson, who will provide guitar and backing vocals, accompanies her. Jen is used to varying styles of music and is happy as a solo performer or part of a small ensemble.

The show is mostly original songs, but we will be playing a changing medley of well-known jazz/blues ballads” says Jen, but in this show she has stripped everything back to an intimate performance which is heart-warming and funny. The show is based around a song that was inspired by a trip to a Tango Club and grew into Green Tile TangoDeveloping on this theme Jen has incorporated several of her originals and a few classic swing tunes all framed within the Green Tile Tango Club.

We have been promised some smoky blues numbers and a few with a “Peggy Lee” influence to make sure nothing gets too serious. As a solution to being dumped, one of the characters in the club sings Forget about Pierre, a lovers lament with comic intent. Most of the song list is original songs but with Jen’s jazz and swing influences a few standards will be sprinkled amongst them. Jen says, “Whether I am singing my own songs or other composers’, singing is all about sharing the deep joy and universal connection of music and storytelling”

Jen is much in demand and has dates booked in Melbourne and back in Perth where she and Bill have also opened Ocean Studios and are planning to record some originals and Jazz standards. Hopefully next year she will again take her music overseas to London, where she was well received in 2010, and include Spain, France, Canada and NY in the tour.

Jen says she is looking forward to sharing the fun, laughter and beautiful music with the Adelaide audiences, and I for one am eagerly anticipating a musical treat.

Jen de Ness performs See Things Like You at La Bohème Fri 26 – Sun 28 June at 7pm.
 


 
REVIEWS FROM LONDON 2014 SHOWS
 
"Jen impressed us all at The Crazy Coqs in London - her musicality, her humour - she gets it, and she knows how to entertain an audience. She has a delicious voice, and a sexy boa to match! We can't wait for her return!”
-  CRAZY COQS , Brasserie Zedel, LONDON (April, 2014)
 
"Jen de Ness is an absolute tour de force! Sultry, scintillating and completely mesmerising. Jen knows how to command the stage, her musicality and sheer skill was evident at her Pheasantry (LONDON) performance as she played with unfamiliar musicians yet boldly weaved and worked her way through a variety of bluesy, smoky numbers. Fantastic!"
- Pheasantry Club LONDON  (April 2014)


 ELLINGTON JAZZ CLUB PERTH 
"Amazing show! It made us feel like we were back in one of those Parisian Cabaret Clubs again."
- de Ness fan, Ellington Jazz Club

 “An Entertaining, professional and classy show with great musicians”.  Kathryn Richardson, fan Ellington Jazz Club April 2015
 
“Warm, sultry, alive, inclusive & some great original songwriting.” Francesca,  fan Ellington Jazz Club April 2015


“JAZZ WITH PIZZAZZ: Jazz singer Jen de Ness, joins her sextet at The Ellington Jazz Club tomorrow night after a stint performing in London.  This show at the Ellington marks a change of direction for  de Ness as she seeks to bring her jazz blend to a wider audience……recently opening a recording studio in South Fremantle.”
-Stephen Bevis, Arts Editor, The West Australian news (July, 2014)
 
"Jen de Ness is nothing if not versatile. From Sultry Jazz and Bossa nova, to familiar swing tunes, blues to pop & her own cool originals, Jen collaborates with musicians in line-ups from duets to sextets.”
- Sarah McNeil, Post Newspaper (Nov 09, 2013)

 PARIS CAT JAZZ CLUB MELBOURNE 
“Great choice of songs; that warm, smooth voice supported by great players and arrangements and a room full of smiles - the best night I've had at the Paris Cat. Please move to Melbourne, so we can see more of Jen de Ness.”
-Gregg Boalch fan at PARIS CAT JAZZ CLUB  (Dec 2014)
"An  entertaining, warm and charming jazz cabaret performance by Jen de Ness at the Paris Cat Jazz Club - unforgettable!" Alice Hoel, Paris Cat Jazz Club July 2014 

 NORTHBRIDGE PIAZZA 
“Jen, it was a terrific vibe - you two mesh brilliantly together, and although I had checked out some youtube vids of your larger group prior to the Northbridge show and athough I loved what I saw of the big group songs, the duo is something  really special.”
- Linda Dunjey Photography at NORTHBRIDGE PIAZZA SHOW (Nov 2014)

REVIEWS FROM SUBIACO THEATRE AND SUBIACO SUNSET CONCERTS 
 
"A stand out hit during the City of Subiaco’s summer concert series, Sunday 21 August sees composers Jen de Ness and Bill Atkinson, return to bring you the uniquely entertaining de Ness jazz cabaret show to Subiaco Theatre. "
- Scoop Magazine (Aug  2011)

"A big crowd pleaser "
- City of Subiaco Sunset @ Subi Concert Series (Jan 2011)

REVIEWS FROM KULCHA CLUB 2010 SHOW
”Stunning Debut concert by Jen de Ness Sextet last night at Kulcha Club.  Catch them if you Can = A totally class act.”
Leigh Jarrett, Events Coordinator 2010


CORPORATE REVIEWS & RECOMMENDATIONS FOR JEN DE NESS 

CAVERSHAM HOUSE MOTHERS DAY 2015
"Jen de Ness was fantastic on Mother's Day. Jen herself was very enthusiastic and professional towards her work. The group were well liked by our dining guests and some didn't want the music to stop! I would highly recommend Jen de Ness to other businesses and will probably request her again for our next event!"
Kris van der Walt (Caversham House) – May 2015

"Dear Jen,
Thank you very much for being here on NYE(2014). Everyone had a lovely time and there were great comments about the evening. All the best for the future and see you here again  soon. Thank you again. "
Alicia Ryan, Manager HYATT REGENCY PERTH (Dec 2014). 

"Jen's quartet performed to a packed house at a New Orleans themed function in the Caduceus Club Room at Gloucester Park in June. A great energy and versatility that attracted double the usual crowd for this event. The Committee and Club members were very enthusiastic in their feedback. Thanks Jen!"                                                                                                                             - Manager Caduceus Club (2013)
 
"I booked Jen de Ness Jazz Duo for a semi-formal awards night and they were an absolute hit for young an old. Their playing (and singing) skills are of high technical quality but they make the event fun and relaxing by delivering in an entertaining way. The jazz was excellent and the atmosphere was brilliant. Would book them again at the first opportunity."
               - Kenley Gordon, Head of Marketing Central Institute of Technology
 
 
“As the Events Officer at the City of Belmont, I engaged Jen de Ness to perform at the annual Jazz in the Park concert in November 2011. Jen performed in a sextet which worked absolutely wonderful and created a superb atmosphere for City of Belmont residents and the wider community at the quaint park, Tomato Lake.   Jen was very professional from my dealings with her right from the start, throughout the event day, as well as post event. Her humble and gentle nature also showed in her performance.
Comments reported from the event surveys indicated the audience were truly impressed by the world-class musicians including the children who danced in front of the stage to every song.   I highly recommend Jen de Ness to perform at your next party, function or event as she can accommodate for all needs.”
                 - Marielle Azzopardi, Events Manager at City of Belmont. (2011)
 
"It was an absolute pleasure to have Jen de Ness Jazz Duo perform for us... The sweet tones of Jen’s jazzy voice coupled with the backup music from Bill on the guitar added to the night’s atmosphere by creating a classy, elegant yet fun evening for all."
- Leanne Rodrigues, Marketing & Events Coordinator


 
"Cool jazz tracks"
- Aurora Blue Records
"Gotan Project meets Edith Piaf...." The Ellington Jazz Club fan (June 2011)
 
"Jen is a wonderful singer and entertainer, with an original musical style and an engaging personality on stage. Her songs are wide-ranging in the subjects they address, and in their genre. She can capture an audience with a ballad, and get them on their feet with a dance number." Vivienne Glance, Freelance Playwright, Dramaturge & Performer


VOICE AND MOVEMENT WORKSHOPS

“Jen de Ness is a very creative & dynamic music/drama coach. Jen helped me to tap into my voice & express myself through music. For a long time I believed I couldnt sing, I had no prior training before I attended Jen's 'Voice Dance Singers Workshop' which culminated in a performance & CD launch at the end of the workshop. It remains one of the highlights of my life and I will always be grateful for the opportunity of being part of a most memorable event. The workshop opened up many doors for me and has helped me on a personal & professional level. I look forward to participating in any future workshops by Jen de Ness.
With gratitude,

Francesca, Voicedance Client

“Jen De Ness loves making music, and sharing her musical knowledge and skills with beginners, music students and professional musicians. She understands that music making needs to be fun as well as challenging, and she is very enthusiastic and encouraging to her students. Her workshops are creative and joyful. For anyone shy of singing she is kind and gentle and an expert at motivation.” 
Top qualities: Personable, Expert, Creative.  

Margot, Voicedance Client